Council of Ministers of Education, Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Education au/in Canada

www.educationau-incanada.ca

Frequently Asked Questions

Questions for Students

View: Questions for educational institutions and associations

Q: How can I get a scholarship or bursary to study in Canada?

A: There is information about scholarships, bursaries and fellowships at our Study in Canada web portal.

Many educational institutions in Canada also have scholarships for international students. You will need to contact the institutions directly where you plan to apply for study to find out more about what scholarships or bursaries they have available. You can find the contact information for each university when you do a search for programs at the Study in Canada website. Just click on the name of the university in the program list and it will link you directly to the university's web site and contact information.

Q: I have been accepted by an educational institution in Canada. Will the certification I get after finishing my study program be recognised in other countries?

A: An education from an accredited Canadian institution will be recognised by employers and institutions around the world. To see if the institution where you plan to study is accredited, you can check the Directory of Universities, Colleges and Schools in the Provinces and Territories of Canada on the website of the Canadian Information Centre for International Credentials. This is a directory of public institutions accredited by Canadian provinces. Some programs offered by private institutions are also included in the list.

Q: What are the requirements for admission into Canadian universities?

A: Each university in Canada has its own policy regarding admission requirements. Your best course of action would be to identify which universities in Canada offer the program which interests you, and then contact them directly regarding their admission requirements. You can find the contact information for each university when you do a search for programs at the Study in Canada website. Just click on the name of the university in the program list and it will link you directly to the university's web site and contact information.

Q: I have been accepted to study English as a Second Language (ESL)/French as a Second Language (FSL) at a private institution in Canada. How can I make sure that it is a good quality program?

A: There are two associations of language schools in Canada (which are soon joining as one association), the Canadian Association of Private Language Schools (CAPLS) and the Canada Language Council (CLC). The members of these associations have undergone quality assessments. You can find their lists of approved programs and members at Languages Canada.

Q: Do I need a Study Permit/Visa? If so, how do I get one?

A: Anyone planning to study for more than six months in Canada needs a Study Permit. If you plan to study for less than six months, but might decide to stay longer, you should apply for a Study Permit before coming to Canada for your studies, as it is very complicated to apply for a Study Permit from within Canada. Citizens of certain countries may also need a Temporary Resident Visa in order to come to Canada for their studies. You can get information about applying for a Study Permit/Visa at Citizenship and Immigration's Studying in Canada page. 

Q: I am a citizen of one country, but have lived in another country for a long time. Where should I apply for a Study Permit/Visa, in my country of citizenship or my country of residence?

A: You can apply for your Study Permit/Visa in your country of residence, your country of nationality or the country where you have been legally admitted. For information on where to send your application, see Citizenship and Immigration's List of countries and corresponding Canadian visa offices page. 

Q: I have finished two years of my program in my home country. I would like to finish the last year of my program in Canada. Will a Canadian institution accept my first two years of study and allow me to start in the third year of the program in Canada?

A: Each university in Canada has its own policy regarding recognition of credits from other institutions. Your best course of action would be to identify which universities in Canada offer the program which interests you, and then contact them directly regarding recognition of your previous studies. You may also want to research if your previous institution has any agreements with institutions in Canada which would allow for credit recognition. The international relations office of your university may be able to help in that regard. You can find the contact information for each university when you do a search for programs at the Study in Canada website. Just click on the name of the university in the program list and it will link you directly to the university's web site and contact information.

Q: I was accepted at a Canadian institution and sent in my application for a Study Permit/Visa a few weeks ago, but I haven't heard anything. Can you tell me when my Study Permit/Visa will come? Can you do anything to speed up the process so I get my Study Permit/Visa right away?

A: Visas and Study Permits are administered by Citizenship and Immigration Canada, and any questions regarding applications should be directed to them. Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada has no involvement or influence in regards to Visas and Study Permits.

Q: Can I work in Canada during my studies?

A: Many students are eligible to work part-time during their studies in Canada, either on or off-campus. To find out more, see the Work permits for students page on Citizenship and Immigration Canada's website. Please note that you will need a Work Permit to work off-campus.

Q: Can my spouse work in Canada while I study?

A: Your spouse or common-law partner may apply for a Work Permit if you are a full-time student at an authorised institution and have a Study Permit. For more details see the Work permits for students page on Citizenship and Immigration Canada's website

Q: Can I work in Canada after finishing my studies there?

A: The Post-Graduation Work Program allows some international students to gain Canadian work experience in their field of study. For more information, see the Work permits for students page on Citizenship and Immigration Canada's website. Please note that you will need a Work Permit to work in Canada after finishing your program of study.

Q: I want to come to Canada to do an internship. What do I need to do to get an internship in Canada? How do I find a company to work for?

A: You should look at the information on the Temporary Foreign Worker Program and Trades and Apprenticeship pages on Human Resources and Social Development Canada's website and Industry Canada's Company Directories.

Q: My child is a Canadian citizen, but we have been living outside Canada for many years. How can I find out what grade my child will go into when we return to Canada? Does she need to apply as an international student?

A: Education in Canada is under the jurisdiction of the provinces, so you will need to contact the province where you plan to live. The contact information for each province can be found on the Council of Ministers of Education, Canada website. If you know in which city/community you will live, you may also want to find the contact information for the school board there and contact them directly to find answers to your questions. Your child, as a Canadian citizen, would not be required to apply as an international student, and would not need a Visa or Study Permit.

Imagine Education in Canada

Footer

Date Modified:
2013-07-05

Conseil des ministres de l'Éducation (Canada)
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Education au/in Canada

www.educationau-incanada.ca

Fil d'Ariane

  1. Accueil

Foire aux questions

Questions des étudiants

Consultez les questions des intervenants en éducation internationale

Q: Comment puis-je obtenir une bourse d'études pour étudier au Canada?

Vous trouverez des informations sur les bourses d'études destinées aux étudiants internationaux sur notre site Web à Étudier au Canada.

Plusieurs établissements d'enseignement offrent des bourses d'études destinées aux étudiants internationaux. Pour obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires sur les bourses disponibles, vous devez contacter directement l'établissement d'enseignement où vous planifiez effectuer une demande d'admission. Vous trouverez les informations sur les personnes ressources pour chaque établissement d'enseignement en effectuant une recherche par programme à Étudier au Canada. Cliquez sur le nom de l'établissement qui vous intéresse dans la liste des programmes et vous serez dirigés vers les coordonnées de l'établissement et de la personne ressource.

Q: J'ai été admis dans un établissement d'enseignement au Canada. Est ce que le diplôme que j'obtiendrai sera reconnu dans d'autres pays?

Les diplômes émis par les établissements d'enseignement canadiens accrédités seront reconnus par les employeurs et les établissements d'enseignement à travers le monde. Pour vérifier si l'établissement d'enseignement où vous planifiez étudier est accrédité, vous pouvez consulter le Répertoire des universités, collèges et écoles dans les provinces et territoires du Canada sur le site Web du Centre d'information canadien sur les diplômes canadiens (CICDI).

Ce répertoire comprend la liste de tous les établissements d'enseignements publics accrédités par les provinces canadiennes ainsi que certains programmes offerts par des établissements d'enseignement privés.

Q: Quels sont les conditions d'admission pour les universités au Canada?

Chaque université au Canada a ses propres conditions d'admission. La meilleure façon de procéder est d'identifier l'université au Canada qui offre le programme qui vous intéresses et ensuite, rechercher les informations sur les conditions d'admission exigées. Vous trouverez les informations sur les personnes ressources pour chaque établissement d'enseignement en effectuant une recherche par programme à Étudier au Canada. Cliquez sur le nom de l'établissement qui vous intéresse dans la liste des programmes et vous serez dirigés vers les coordonnées de l'établissement.

Q: On m'a admis dans un programme d'anglais ou de français langue seconde dans un établissement d'enseignement privé au Canada. Comment puis-je être rassuré sur la qualité du programme?

Il existe deux associations d'écoles de langues au Canada (qui se fusionneront en 2008): l'Association canadienne des écoles de langues de langues au Canada (ACELP) et le Conseil des langues du Canada (CLC). Les membres de ces associations ont subi des évaluations de qualités et doivent respecter certains critères minimaux de qualité. Vous pouvez trouver la liste des membres qui en font partie ainsi que la liste de leurs programmes.

Q: Ai-je besoin d'obtenir un permis d'étude/visa ? Si oui, comment puis-je en obtenir un?

Si vous planifier étudier pour une période de plus de six mois au Canada, vous devez effectuer une demande de permis d'études. Si vous planifier étudier pour moins de six mois au Canada mais qu'il est probable que vous décidiez d'y étudier plus longtemps, vous devriez faire une demande de permis d'études avant d'arriver au Canada car il est assez compliqué d'effectuer une demande de permis d'étude à partir du Canada. Les résidents de certains pays doivent obtenir un visa de résident temporaire en plus du permis d'études. Vous pouvez obtenir des informations sur les permis d'études.

Q: Je suis citoyen d'un tel pays, mais je vis dans un autre pays depuis longtemps. Où dois-je faire parvenir ma demande de permis d'études/visa? Dans mon pays d'origine ou dans mon pays de résidence?

Vous pouvez effectuer votre demande de permis d'études dans votre pays de résidence, votre pays d'origine ou le pays où vous avez été légalement admis. Voici les adresses des bureaux canadiens de visas où faire parvenir votre demande de permis d'études/visa.

Q: Dans mon pays de résidence, j'ai complété deux ans d'un programme. J'aimerais compléter la dernière année du programme dans un établissement d'enseignement au Canada. Est ce que l'établissement d'enseignement canadien reconnaîtra mes deux premières années et me permettra de commencer à la troisième année d'un programme?

Chaque université au Canada a sa propre politique concernant la reconnaissance des crédits scolaires d'autres établissements. La meilleure façon de procéder est d'identifier l'université au Canada qui offre le programme qui vous intéresses et ensuite de les contacter directement à ce sujet. De plus, vous devriez vous informer au sien de votre université si celle-ci a conclu des ententes de reconnaissance de crédits scolaires avec des universités au Canada. Le bureau des relations internationales de votre université peut aider vous aider à cet égard. Vous trouverez les informations sur les personnes ressources pour chaque établissement d'enseignement au Canada en effectuant une recherche de programme à Étudier au Canada. Cliquez sur le nom de l'établissement qui vous intéresses dans la liste des programmes et vous serez dirigés vers les coordonnées de l'établissement et de la personne ressource.

Q: J'ai fait parvenir ma demande de permis d'études/visa il y a quelques semaines, mais je n'ai pas encore eu de nouvelles. Pouvez-vous m'aider à accélérer le processus afin que j'obtienne mon permis d'études le plus rapidement possible?

Les visas et les permis d'études sont administrés par Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada et toute question se rapportant aux permis d'études et aux visas doivent leur être adressées directement. Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada n'a pas d'incidence et d'influence à l'égard de l'émission des permis par Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada.

Q: Puis-je travailler au Canada pendant mes études?

Plusieurs catégories d'étudiants sont éligibles au travail sur le campus (ou hors campus) et à temps partiel pendant leurs études. Veuillez noter que pour travailler hors campus vous aurez besoin d'un permis de travail. Pour de plus amples informations, veuillez consulter le site Web de Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada.

Q: Est ce que mon conjoint ou ma conjointe peut travailler au Canada pendant que j'y poursuis mes études?

Votre conjoint ou conjointe peut effectuer une demande de permis de travail si vous avez déjà obtenu un permis d'études valide et que vous étudiez à temps plein dans un établissement d'enseignement canadien autorisé. Pour de plus amples informations, veuillez consulter le site Web de Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada.

Q: Puis-je travailler au Canada après y avoir complété mes études?

Le Programme de travail post-diplôme permet aux étudiants ayant obtenu un diplôme dans un établissement postsecondaire canadien participant d'acquérir une expérience professionnelle au Canada dans leur domaine d'études. Veuillez noter que vous aurez devrez obtenir un permis de travail pour travailler au Canada après avoir complété vos études. Pour de plus amples informations, veuillez consulter le site Web de Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada.

Q: J'aimerais effectuer un stage au Canada. Que dois-je faire pour obtenir un stage au Canada? Comment puis-je trouver une compagnie auprès de laquelle je pourrais travailler?

Vous devriez consulter les informations sur le site Web de Ressources humaines et Développement social Canada (RHDSC) à la programme des travailleurs étrangers, la section de RHDSC sur l'apprentissage à la programme des travailleurs étrangers temporaires et le répertoire des entreprises canadiennes à l'entreprises canadiennes.

Q: Mon enfant est citoyen canadien mais nous avons vécu à l'extérieur du Canada pendant plusieurs années. Comment puis-je savoir à quel niveau d'étude mon enfant sera admis quand je retournerai au Canada ? Est ce que mon enfant doit faire une demande de permis d'études?

L'éducation au Canada est sous juridiction provinciale donc vous devrez contacter la province où vous planifiez habiter. Vous trouverez des coordonnés des ministères de l'Éducation de chaque province sur le site Web du Conseil des ministres de l'Éducation. Si vous connaissez la ville ou vous allez habiter, vous devriez contacter les autorités scolaires de cette ville et leur posez directement la question. En tant que citoyen canadien, votre enfant n'a pas besoin d'obtenir un permis d'études/visa et ne sera pas considéré comme un étudiant international.

Imagine Éducation au Canada

Pied de page

Date de modification :
2013-07-05